FANDOM

Welcome to Harry Potter Answers. What would you like to know?

Since the Wand Ban (3rd clause of the Code of Wand Use) was passed by the Ministry of Magic in 1631, all Non-Human Magical Beings were forbidden to carry a wand. This most likely includes vampires.

The subject of vampires in the Harry Potter universe has not been addressed much. If vampirism is a magical disease, like lycanthropy (werewolves) then it can be presumed that if someone was born a wizard and then became a vampire, he or she would still retain rights of a wizard to carry and use a wand. If, however, a muggle became a vampire then they would still be forbidden a wand, even though they would now be permitted into the wizarding world.

If vampires are unique creatures, like goblins and house-elves, then no, they are not permitted to carry wands.

By the wording of the laws concerning the treatment of "Non-wizard part-humans" it can be guessed that vampirism is, like lycanthropy, a communicable condition, and that there are both wizarding and muggle vampires, just as there can be wizarding and muggle werewolves. The "part-human" implies they were human before becoming a vampire.

Sources

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Chapter 9)

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.